Burning Permit Policy
- Burning Permits are issued at the Plains Road Fire Station weekdays anytime between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 6:00 p.m.
- Burning Permits may be issued on Class 2 days or lower, or at the discretion of the Fire Chief.
- The State of Maine Forestry Department will determine the FIRE DANGER REPORT & CLASS DAY
- If there are high winds predicted, permits may possibly not be issued on that day.
- Permits are to be issued on the day of burning, with possible longer periods when there is snow cover. This will be determined by the Hollis Fire Chief.
- All permits will be issued until 12:00 midnight at the latest.
- Campfire Permits may be issued from January 1st to December 31st. Campfire Permits are for cooking and warming only and must be in a containment area that does not exceed 3 feet in diameter (i.e., outside fireplace or open enclosure made of non-combustible materials such as rock or bricks.
- All fires are to conform to all State Laws pertaining to materials that are burned. All fires must be extinguished properly.
- Permits are also available online
Chris Young, Chief
Hollis Municipal Fire Department
34 Town Farm Road (mail)
405 Plains Road (physical)Hollis, ME 04042
Maine State Police: 207-657-3030
Sanford Dispatch: 207-324-3644